Rudi Engelbrecht's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jailbreaking an iPhone 3G with iOS 4.0

with 2 comments

I have previously upgraded my iPhone 3G to use iOS 4.0. I am really impressed with the new features.

The following did not impress me:

  1. My SMS app does not open – I cannot read / create SMS’s.
  2. I do not have Orientation Lock like the 3GS users.

I decided to try and copy the SMS’s off the iPhone so I could read them – since I received a few SMS’s since the upgrade. There is software available to do this, but since I have jailbroken my iPhones before – I decided to look for solutions.

I stumbled upon RedSn0w by reading this blog entry with instructions on how to jailbreak an iPhone 3G with iOS 4.0. What I liked about this approach is that an iPhone that has been upgraded and synchronised can be jailbroken, without creating a custom firmware file.

The process is very smooth and easy.

Afterwards I installed OpenSSH via Cydia and WhatIP (to quickly see what IP my iPhone is using on the network) and I was able to ssh into the iPhone.

I managed to locate the ‘sms.db’ file in the ‘/User/Library/SMS’ directory. I copied it to my MacBook Pro and then viewed the SMS messages in the database using a SQLite Viewer.

According to most posts – a person can simply remove the ‘sms.db’ file on the iPhone and the next the SMS app opens – it will create an empty database. I did exactly that. It did not work for me. I managed to open the SMS app, but the SMS’s will not send or receive.

So I decided to do a clean install of iOS 4.0 and then not restore from backup, but install as new iPhone. I then managed to use the SMS app. Luckily I had MobileMe syncing my contacts and calendars, so I added my MobileMe details to the iPhone and a few minutes later all my contacts and calendars were on the iPhone again.

I had to tick all my apps in iTunes and sync them again. I also lost any specific settings (like usernames and passwords) on certain apps, but I simply re-captured them.

It was actually nice starting again from a clean install. 😉

I now have the wallpaper as per the iPhone 3GS, as well as orientation lock. The multitasking does not seem that it is working the way I expected, maybe because it is not really supported on 3G. I will look at someone else’s iPhone 3GS and compare their multitasking with mine.

I will keep you posted.

PS. If you go the link above and try to download the Mac OS X version of RedSn0w and get a “Page not found” error – then you can download RedSn0w from here. This is taken from the Dev-Team Blog for iPhone jailbreaks over here.

Written by Rudi Engelbrecht

June 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Posted in iPhone

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like this article! Also, check out my RedSnow site here:
    http://www.redsn0w.us/

    redsn0w download

    July 22, 2014 at 4:06 am

  2. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of
    your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.


Leave a Reply

