Rudi Engelbrecht's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

iOS 4.3 Personal Hotspot on Vodacom 3G

with 10 comments

My iPhone 4 has been updated to iOS 4.3. I was looking forward to this update for a while since I wanted a MiFi Hotspot without carrying around my MiFi device.
So far it works really well. This post is published via my iPad, connected wirelessly to my iPhone 4.
This saves me from taking out another data contract for the iPad for the odd occasion when I need access outside WiFi range.
This makes an iPhone 4 and WiFi-only iPad a nice combination.

Below is a screenshot of the iOS Personal Hotspot option.

iOS 4.3 Personal Hotspot on Vodacom SA

Written by Rudi Engelbrecht

March 11, 2011 at 9:10 am

Posted in iOS, iPhone

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Rudi – i have upgraded to IOS 4.3 on my iphone 4 – i cant find the Enable Personal Hotspot Feature at all did you ask the network to enable it for you I am with Vodacom SA

    Jacques Barkhuizen

    March 11, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    • Hi Jacques

      No need to phone Vodacom SA. When you open Settings and look at the 4th option from the top – “Personal Hotspot” – that is the one.

      If you still cannot find it, then let me know. I will then post a screenshot.

      Enjoy and kind regards

      Rudi

      rudiengelbrecht

      March 11, 2011 at 7:03 pm

  2. I have exactly the same issue – i have looked everywhere in settings – under network I only get the following: Enable 3g, Mobile Date, Mobile Data network, Data roaming, VPN and WiFi. Please advise

    Gert

    March 25, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    • If you click on the Settings icon – usually on your iPhone Home Page, what do get? You should get the same screen as shown above where the options are 1) Airplane Mode, 2) Wi-Fi, 3) VPN and then 4) Personal Hotspot.
      If you still have no success, email me a screen shot of your iPhone after you tapped on Settings.

      Rudi Engelbrecht

      March 25, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      • 1stly – how do i email a screenshot? In the absence of that – my settings screen looks as follows:
        Airplane Mode
        Wifi
        Notifications
        Location Services
        Carrier
        Sounds
        Brightness etc.

        Gert

        March 28, 2011 at 8:11 pm

  3. Hi guys,

    I’ve got the same issue – no Hotspot on my recently purchased IPhone 4:

    Airplane Mode
    WiFi
    Notifications
    Location Services
    etc

    Yet there is one on my old IPhone 3gs

    I reckon it must be activated thru Vodacom SA somehow?

    Jay

    March 29, 2011 at 2:27 am

    • Hi Jay

      See the comment from Gert where he needed to reset the network settings.

      Can you try it and let us know?

      Rudi Engelbrecht

      March 29, 2011 at 9:00 am

  4. Rudi,

    Managed to sort it out – I needed to reset the network settings. Now it is there, thanks!

    Gert

    March 29, 2011 at 7:05 am

    • Hi Gert

      Glad to hear you resolved it – seems that you are not the only one.

      Thanks for letting us know.

      Rudi Engelbrecht

      March 29, 2011 at 8:59 am

  5. Hey guys,

    Yep, resetting the network settings worked out for me too.
    Thanks a lot!

    Cheers

    Jay

    March 29, 2011 at 7:12 pm


Leave a Reply

